NJ DUI Penalties
In New Jersey, a DWI/DUI conviction carries harsh penalties. The state has several laws specifically dedicated to drunk driving punishment. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle when your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 percent or above. The .08 limit is the standard measurement of the legally “impaired” driver across the United States. New Jersey has lower BAC limits for drivers of commercial vehicles and minors under the age of 21. New Jersey has a number of mandatory fines and penalties for DUI or DWI offenders. The consequences for a DUI or DWI conviction can include fines, surcharges in court, surcharges from the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission, jail time, participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), driver’s license suspension, and installation of an interlock device.
What are the penalties for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey?
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Up to 30 days||Up to 90 days||Up to 180 days|
|Fines and Penalties||$250 to $500||$500 to $1,000||$1,000|
|License Suspension||3 months to 1 year||2 years||10 years|
All drunk driving arrests also carry the following penalties:
- $100 Surcharge for the drunk driving enforcement fund.
- $100 Motor Vehicle Restoration Fee.
- $100 Violent Crimes Compensation fee.
- $100 Intoxicated Driver Program Fee.
- $100 State and Municipality Fee.
If you believe that you are under investigation, have been subpoenaed before a grand jury or arrested and charged with a crime, contact us for a confidential consultation by phone at (215) 563-9800 or email at info@NeffSedacca.com.